The CarePayment team is committed to using our extensive healthcare and finance expertise to provide best-in-class solutions. 

Craig Hodeges Chief Executive Officer

Before becoming CarePayment CEO, Craig Hodges was senior vice president and general manager of patient billing and payment services and for payer payment solutions for Emdeon, a leading provider of revenue and payment cycle management and clinical information exchange solutions. Hodges joined Emdeon in 2007 when it acquired IXT Solutions, a healthcare technology firm providing self-pay revenue tools. Craig was a founder of IXT and served as its president and COO. He also was president and COO of National Business Products, which offered a suite of billing, payment and card-based affinity programs. Hodges studied business administration at Austin Peay State University.

Ed Caldwell Chief Revenue Officer at CarePayment

Before joining CarePayment, Ed Caldwell was senior vice president of sales and marketing for MediTract, a healthcare contract and document management solutions provider for one quarter of U.S. hospitals. He spent more than 20 years at Emdeon in senior sales management, business development and operations roles, including senior vice president of institutional provider solutions, where he was responsible for delivering revenue cycle management technology and service solutions to the provider market. Caldwell holds a Bachelor of Arts in Finance from the University of Alabama.

Steve Kukula Chief Technology Officer at CarePayment

Steve came to CarePayment from Change Healthcare, where he was CTO prior to the acquisition by Emdeon. After the acquisition, Steve served as CTO for the Engagement Solutions Division, where he was responsible for product management, product development, data, informatics, and IT operations. Before that he was the director of Applications for Walgreens’ Healthcare Clinic and its Take Care Health Systems division. He also has served as senior vice president of technology at ComFrameSoftware and as a consultant for clients such as Bank of America and Goldman Sachs.

James Oliff Chief Financial Officer at CarePayment

Before joining CarePayment, James Oliff was CFO of Althea Group, a national retail pharmacy holding company.  He spent a combined 10 years at Emdeon and Chamberlin Edmonds in senior finance and operational analytics roles including divisional CFO for the Services division at Emdeon. James also brings extensive financial planning, accounting and analytics experience from large corporations including International Paper and Macy’s.  He received a Bachelor of Science in Finance from The Pennsylvania State University and an M.B.A. from Georgia State University.

Senior Vice President, Business Development at CarePayment

Before joining CarePayment, Steve Sanders was Director of Product Management at Allscripts, where he was responsible for the Payerpath suite of revenue cycle solutions. During his 15-year tenure at Allscripts, he led the product management and strategy efforts while also being involved in reseller and product related business development initiatives. Prior to that, he held numerous product management, marketing and business development roles with healthcare technology and revenue cycle management solutions firms. Sanders received his B.B.A in Finance from James Madison University.

Senior Council at CarePayment

Prior to joining the CarePayment team, Jim Fason served in a variety of in-house counsel roles, including positions with for profit and non-profit companies and federal agencies such as SunTrust Bank, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation and Resolution Trust Corporation, and Saint Joseph’s Health System. Jim was also an associate with two law firms: Arnall Golden Gregory and Troutman Sanders. In these positions, Jim has focused on creditor’s rights (business and litigation contexts); bank and savings and loan regulation and liquidation; healthcare; technology; and consumer finance, including responsibility for legal services to build and service credit card, loan and line of credit portfolios, ensuring compliance with federal, state and local consumer protection laws and regulations. Fason earned his undergraduate degree at Georgia Institute of Technology and his law degree at Mercer University, Walter F. George School of Law.